The Pleasure Trap

I am currently finishing up “The Pleasure Trap,” by Dr. Alan Goldhamer and Dr. Doug Lisle.  It’s a very interesting book, advocating for a whole foods, plant-based diet that is low in fat, from a psychological perspective.  Also, the book concludes with a discussion about water fasting.  The point being that Western medicine tends to always attempt to respond to disease/illness by adding something.  Adding a medication.  Adding a surgical procedure.  But water fasting is counter-intuitive because it is based on removing dietary excess from the patient.  I highly recommend this book.

2 thoughts on “The Pleasure Trap

  1. It’s been a while, but I liked the book as well. It really explains why we are so drawn to bad foods. It’s not our fault, it’s the food! I like Lisle’s live presentations even better than the book. If you like the book, check out a DVD. Another book that is similar is Kessler’s book The End of Overeating. Very good, but it doesn’t advocate the right diet. As for fasting, Dr. Fuhrman’s first book was about water fasting, also very interesting.

    Been training? I got back on the bike yesterday for a couple of hours after weeks of running only and boy did it feel weird!

    Oh, here’s a great podcast interview with Maffetone, if you’re interested:
    http://trailrunnernation.com/2013/01/dr-phil-maffetone-speed-up-by-slowing-down/

  2. Thanks. I’ll have to get that DVD since I found the book by Lisle and Goldhamer so enlightening.

    Training? Yes, I have managed to do about 5 runs per week totaling about 30 miles per week even during the December-January period when it was snowy and icy. At first I went to the YMCA and ran the treadmill. Later I rediscovered my Yak-Traks, attached them to an old pair of running shoes and ran on the packed snow.

    I ran a 5K race yesterday, my first 5K race in over a year, and got a PR out of it. A 7:37 minute per mile pace, an improvement on my previous PR pace in the 5K of 7:53 min/mile.

    I enjoyed the race so much I decided to sign up for a 10K race 4 weeks from now.

    Oh, by the way, one of the guys in my running club has been reading up on Maffetone. He’s a vegan and he has noticed that Maffetone suggests lots of fat in the diet. He hasn’t bought Maffetone’s ideas on nutrition yet, but he is very interested in Maffetone’s emphasis on low to moderate heart rates during training. However, based on second hand sources (not Maffetone himself) he mentioned that once a runner hits a plateau, Maffetone suggests that they should do some speed work. As for me, my training will continue to be mostly Maffetone, with a tiny bit of speed work just for fun. And a few shorter races to keep things interesting.

Leave a Reply

