How many miles?

I have become very comfortable doing all of my training runs at an aerobic pace, usually with my heart rate in the 130s.  I don’t worry about how fast I run.  I just cover the distance.

But that begs the question of how much distance, how many miles I should run on a given day or a given week?  Or perhaps the key question isn’t miles/distance but time/minutes/hours running.

Is running 40 miles per week going to better prepare me for a half marathon than running 30 miles per week?

Is running 6 hours per week going to better prepare me for a half marathon than running 5 hours per week?

Should most of this mileage or time be spent on one long run on the weekend or is it better to spread this mileage/time out?

Last week I ran 40 miles total and 15 miles in a single morning.  Both of these distances were longer than I had ever run before.  But is there any benefit for doing this many miles?

One thought on “How many miles?

Leave a Reply

