Five weeks at higher mileage

For five consecutive weeks I have maintained at least 30 miles per week of running mileage.

On June 10th, I began running 5 to 6 days per week.  For the week of June 10th through June 16th I ran a total of 30 miles.  The following two weeks I ran 31 miles.  During the first two weeks of July I increased my mileage to 35 miles and 34 miles.

I have been able to run more frequently and have been able to complete longer runs on consecutive days, on weekend mornings, because I have been keeping my heart rate under 140 beats per minute on almost all of my runs.  In fact, in some of my runs my heart rate has averaged under 130 beats per minute.

In order to keep my heart rate this low while running, I have been running much slower, often at a 11 minute per mile pace.  I do wonder if on race day, and my next race is a half marathon on September 22nd, I will be capable of putting my running into a faster gear.  But there’s only one way to find out.  I will continue to pile up the miles at these low heart rates and test out this heart rate training in a few months.

Leave a Reply

